

College of Education, Arts & Sciences and Nursing
College Meeting
Cowan Hall 300
August 22, 2018
2:00-4:00 pm

Members: Randy Bachmeier, Samantha Balemba, Jack Beiger, Virginia Braithwaite, Vickie Clouse, John Foley, Valerie Guyant, Steve Hesske, Terri Hildebrand, Shawn Huse, Steve Lockwood, Neil Moisey, Chris Mouat, Rose Obunaga, Maureen Odegard, Cristy Ozburn, Charles Pollington, Carol Reifschneider, Andrew Rolin, Mark Seiffert, Darlene Sellers, Curtis Smeby, John Snider, Joel Soiseth, Gary Succaw, Tyson Thivierge, Joey Todd

Members Present: Randy Bachmeier, Samantha Balemba, Jack Beiger, Virginia Braithwaite, Grant Bowker, Barb Coffman, Vickie Clouse, John Foley, Valerie Guyant, Terri Hildebrand, Cristy Ozburn, Carol Reifschneider, Mark Seiffert, Darlene Sellers, Curtis Smeby, Joel Soiseth, Maureen Stott, Gary Succaw, Joey Todd, Neil Moisey

Chair: Carol Reifschneider

Minutes: Debra Bradley

- 1. Call to Order: at 2:00pm by Carol Reifschneider
- 2. **Approval of Minutes**:
 - Minutes will be held till the September 2018 meeting
- 3. <u>Discussions</u>
 - Changing of the name
 - CEAS zero vote
 - CASE 14 votes Winner
 - CSAE 1 vote
 - CSEA 2 votes
 - CAES zero vote
 - Chair Position for CoEAS
 - Joel Soiseth spoke on the following
 - Qualifications are in the CBA
 - Applicants notification are due to Debra on 09/10/2018 by 5pm
 - Open form will be 09/12/2018
 - Voting will be 09/17/2018

- Carol Reifschneider reminded everyone to look at the 19 clauses that the chair does in the CBA
- o This is a three year commitment

• Power Point Presentation

- Jennifer Anderson and Debra Bradley presented
 - Please send in your syllabi, resume' and office hours
 - Check your mail boxes
 - Important Forms
 - i. Travel Requests
 - ii. Travel Expense Vouchers
 - iii. Request to Purchase
 - Sick Leave
 - i. Please make sure that the Dean, Chair and the Admin know that you are not going to be in.
 - Signs for your office and classroom(s) will be made
 - Overhead projectors
 - i. Cost of the light bulbs
 - Media Reprographics
 - i. Fill out the print order form or send an email letting the admins know that you are printing.
 - ii. Trying to keep the cost down
 - Book store Purchases
 - i. Please contact the Dean, Chair or Admins before purchasing from them.
 - ii. Send the pink slip to the admins of the department
- Curricular Changes
 - Meetings every two week and monthly
 - Doodle poll will be sent out by Debra
- Program Reviews
 - Criminal Justice, Health Promotions
 - Information
 - Back to college
 - Present day results
 - Evaluate
 - i. Jobs
 - ii. Graduates
 - iii. Majors
 - iv. Success of the program
- Learning Outcomes
- Mission Statement for the College
 - Need one soon!

- Task Stream
 - Gen Ed
 - Present Gen Ed
 - Culmination for Gen Ed
- Faculty Senate
 - Mark Seiffert is the chair for the remainder of Jamie Underwood's term.
 - Christy Ozburn to replace Jamie Underwood for the 2018-2021 term

4. Proposals:

Proposal will be held till the September 2018 meeting

5. Committee Reports:

- Admissions and Standards (3 members from each college)
 - Members are: Joel Soiseth (chair), Wane Boysun, Joey Todd, Lorren Schlotfeldt
- <u>Curriculum</u> (3 members from each college)
 - Members are: Joey Todd, Terri Hildebrand, Valerie Guyant, Jeremy Hofman, Jim Kirkpatrick, Bryon Ophus (chair),
- **Financial Aid** (3 members from each college)
 - Members are: Virginia Braithwaite, Maureen Odegard, Barb Zuck, Jeremy Hofman, Cindy Small
- <u>Cultural Development</u> (2 members from each college along with invites to Northern Foundation Director, the Havre High School Drama Director and the Public Information Director)
 - Members are: Samantha Balemba(Chair), Kevin Holzworth, Josh Meyer, Valerie Guyant
- <u>Library</u> (2 members from each college)
 - Members are: Joey Todd, Cristy Ozburn, Brandon Matson, Jim Kirkpatrick (chair)
- <u>Instruction, Research and Faculty Development</u> (2 members from each college along with the Provost as a non-voting member)
 - Members are: John Snider(Chair), Kevin Ruby, Eleazer Resurreccion, Samantha Balemba, Valerie Guyant
- <u>General Education</u> (3 members from each college along with the Provost as a non-voting member)
 - Members are: Gary Succaw(Chair), Cristy Ozburn, Spike Magelssen, Jeremy Siemens.
- <u>Instructional Technology</u> (2 members from each college and the Director of Information Technology Services (non-voting), Director of Extended University (non-voting), Provost (non-voting)
 - Members are: Valerie Guyant, Jay Howland, Samantha Balemba, Lanny Wilke

- <u>Graduate Council</u> (one representative from each graduate program, two at large representatives (one from each college) with an earned doctorate, the chairs of each college; non-voting members are the following, Provost, Director of Endorsements, the Deans of each college).
 - Members are: Virginia Braithwaite, Darlene Sellers, Curtis Smeby(Chair), Carol Reifschneider, Joey Todd, Randy Bachmeier, Terri Hildebrand, Steven Don, Eleazer Resurreccion

6. Announcements:

- Chancellor to speak about GFU-MSU sharing the following
 - CFO
 - Provost
- 7. Adjournment: at 3:30pm